September 20, 2021

Lakefront Hartwell

Complete News World

Five new nations were elected to the Security Council

AA / New York

Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, Albania and the United Arab Emirates have been elected to the Security Council as permanent members of the Security Council in 2022 and 2023, UN General Assembly President Volkan Boskir announced on Friday.

At a session at the headquarters of the International Organization in New York, Boskere told representatives of the member states of the General Assembly that the five countries would begin their terms from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023.

“Of the 193 members of the United Nations, Ghana received 185 votes, Gabon 183 votes, Brazil 181 votes, the United Arab Emirates 179 votes and Albania 175 votes,” he said.

The five newly elected countries faced no opposition to sitting in this body during the vote.

Thus they replace Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Vietnam and Tunisia, whose order expires on December 31, 2021.

To sit on the Security Council as a non-permanent member, each country must receive two-thirds of the votes of the General Assembly member states (193 countries), that is, members of the General Assembly participate in the voting process with the support of at least 129 countries, even if the candidate countries do not face opposition to seeking seats.

To ensure geographical representation, sites are allocated by regional committees.

Voting for the five seats took place according to the following geographical distribution: two seats for the “Africa Group” (currently occupied by Niger and Tunisia), one seat for the “Asia-Pacific Group” (currently occupied by Vietnam), one seat for the Latin American and Caribbean Group (currently St. Greece) Occupied), a seat for the Eastern European Group (currently occupied by Estonia).

READ  Recognition removed before Morocco (Zone B)

The Security Council has 15 members, including five permanent members: China, the United States, the Russian Federation, France and the United Kingdom, and 10 members elected by the General Assembly for a two-year term. Each year, the latter elects five new non-permanent members.

The first priority of the Security Council under the United Nations Charter is to “maintain international peace and security and to investigate any dispute or situation that may lead to disagreement between nations.”

* Translated by Majdi Ismail from Arabic

The AA website only briefly broadcasts part of the dispatch that Anatolia Agency broadcasts to its subscribers via the Internal Distribution System (HAS). Contact us to subscribe.